Prof John P. Bilezikian

Dr. Bilezikian, Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology at the College of Physicians & Surgeons, Columbia University is Chief of the Division of Endocrinology and Director of the Metabolic Bone Diseases Program at Columbia University Medical Center. Dr. Bilezikian received his training in Metabolic Bone Diseases and in Endocrinology at the NIH under Dr. Gerald Aurbach. He belongs to a number of professional societies including the ASBMR of which he has served as President and the ISCD of which he also served as President. He is a member of the Endocrine Society, the American Federation for Clinical Research, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians, the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists, the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, and the American College of Endocrinology that has designated him Master. He has served as Editor-in-Chief of the JCEM (2000-2004) and as Associate Editor of OI (Special Features Editor).

He became Senior Associate Editor of JBMR in 2008. His books include Editor-in-Chief of The Parathyroids (1994, 2001), and co-editor of Principles of Bone Biology (1996, 2002, 2008), The Aging Skeleton (1999), and Dynamics of Bone and Cartilage Metabolism (1999, 2006). He chaired the NIH Consensus Development Panel on Optimal Calcium Intake and Co-chaired the NIH Workshop on Primary Hyperparathyroidism. He is a Councillor of the Endocrine Society, Member of the Board of Governors of the IOF, Member of the Council of Scientific Advisors of the IOF, and Chair of the Endocrine Fellows Foundation. Dr. Bilezikian's major research interests are related to the clinical investigation of metabolic bone diseases, particularly osteoporosis and primary hyperparathyroidism. In these areas, he has published over 500 scientific papers.

He is the recipient of the Distinguished Physician Award of the Endocrine Society, the Frederic C. Bartter Award of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research for Excellence in Clinical Research, the John P. McGovern Compleat Physician Award of the Houston Academy of Medicine, the First Annual Global Leadership Award of the ISCD, and the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Armenian American Medical Society.