Leith Zakraoui

Leith Zakraoui is Professor of Rheumatology at the University of Tunis School of Medicine and head of the department of Rheumatology at the teaching hospital Mongi Slim at La Marsa (Tunis, Tunisia).

Prof Zakraoui received his MD at Université Pierre et Marie Curie. Paris. France and post graduated in Rheumatology (Université René Descartes. Paris. France). He trained in the VAMC and at Hospital of the University of Philadelphia (HUP) Pennsylvania and trained as fellow at Tulane University at New Orleans Louisiana and started an MPH at the school of Public Health of this University (Immunology and epidemiology).

He is Professor of Rheumatology and head of the department of medicine at the University of Tunis.

Prof Zakraoui founded in 2001 the Tunisian Osteoporosis Prevention Society (TOPS) and was a cofounder of the Pan Arab Osteoporosis Society (PAOS). He was President of PAOS (2002-2005) and organized the 3rd pan arab osteoporosis congress in Tunis in 2005 as well as the first IOF certification course of bone densitometry (Tunis september 2005). He was certified in Clinical Densitometry by the ISCD.

He was the Secretary General of the African League Against Rheumatism (AFLAR) and President of the Tunisian League Against Rheumatism. He was the principal investigator in several major studies such as the HIFIT (hip fracture in Tunisia), the DOPIT (densitometric osteoporosis prevalence in Tunisia) as well as the reference curves of BMD in Tunisian women, calcium intake and the FRAX tool version in Tunisia.

He also conducted several other studies on the prevalence of osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis in Tunisia and was involved in numerous clinical trials and published several papers in this field.

Prof Zakraoui chaired the committee who established the national guidelines on the use of NSAID’s and analgesics and is the chair of the committee who is working on national guidelines on the management of osteoporosis in Tunisia.

He is a member of the editorial board of la Revue du Rhumatisme (France) and la Tunisie Médicale , and the American College of Rheumatology and la Societé Française de Rhumatologie.